Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Harry's animation thread

Hey guys, been lurking here for quite a while but I've finally built up the courage to post some work here.
I'm a second year student at the University of Hertfordshire, currently sorting out my reel to apply for internships before production properly starts on a small animated short we have to create for our second semester.

I'd love some feedback on my reel! Tell me I'm terrible, I don't mind. It's the only way I'm going to improve! :)

Replies

• Rmunday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
    You are definitely not terrible, I feel you have put your 2 weakest pieces at the beginning, they feel very floaty. The animation on the phone I feel is actually very good got some good solid poses and it is easy to understand what is going on without even needing the audio on what he has just been told. Same with the fist slam on the table some good feeling of weight to the action. The horses walk, something feels off I think it has to do with lack of shifting weight. The run on the other hand looks well done. 

Judging by this work you are by no means terrible, only been in your second semester you have plenty of time to keep pushing and improving by time you finish you will be well on your way to becoming a very good animator. Always use reference if you can use a player that lets you frame by frame do that to catch the subtle movements of an action.

Well done!
  • slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Second year out of how many?