Home Technical Talk

Baking troubles

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
yapasddfgg polycounter lvl 4
Hi! Im pretty new to 3D (roghly half a year in zBrush) so I'm more or less used to sculpting and other zBrush processes, BUT I know literally nothing when it comes to laying out UV's, texturing and baking maps. For some reason, it became a huge problem for me, somehow I couldnt google enough information so i decided to do everything myself. 
So, for starters I've made this sculpt
Then I went through tons of unnecessary operations (such as using zRemesher with polypaint and Guides brush with 0.1 density thinking that I can avoid retopologizing by hand since I never tried that and wasn't really sure I have the knowledge to do that). But either way, I ended up retopologizing everything by hand in Maya.

I understood the process of retopo enough to do all of the parts (and the soft/hard edges), but anyway I had some problems. Therefore, there goes the first question. How do you retopo parts like those reactors?

Or anything that is small and, per say, cylindrical. Do you place the cylinder roughly the same as the highpoly? Do you draw polygons directly on that object? I hope there's more intelligent way of doing this, unlike mine.
The next step, obviously, was laying out UV's. Since i've never tried that also, it became a huge problem. I started out laying out every part of the armor separately (1 object per 1 UV space). Only when I finished I realized how dumb I am. I combined every part and then I saw the mess I've made: UVs for every part overlapped one another. I was like: okay, now I know everything for sure, I'll just lay everything in one UV space. I ended up with this: 
Here goes the second question: is it okay to do that? I know for sure, that the layout itself is awfull, I hope I have an excuse since that's the first one I've made so far, I just wanna know if the idea of putting every single part into 1 UV set is correct.