Home General Discussion

AutoCAD Tecnician wanting to learn more 3D visualisation skills

Hi all,

It feels good to sign up on here. Hopefully the start of good things. First thing, what a great community this forum seems to be. I have been looking around online for information with regards to 3D Studio Max and Maya. This forum name kept popping up. Some of the talent on here is very inspiring. Things have moved on so far since I last looked into rendering etc.

I have been a CAD Technician in the engineering industry for about 15 years now. I'm currently 37 years old. I used to do way more CAD work than I do now. Nowadays my day mostly consists of checking other peoples work and marking up PDF's with corrections and making some fixes to the drawing myself. Also dealing with sub-contractors and all the other boring things I have zero passion for. I have used 3D AutoCAD commercially and I have dipped my toe into rendering using 3D Studio Max ages ago.

I have been thinking a lot lately about trying to improve my 3D skills and trying to become more of a 3D Visualiser, rather than just a CAD Technician. I was always quite creative when I was younger but was convinced that art wasn't important and that I should get a job in engineering like my dad. He was a draftsman but has recently retired. I have always enjoyed the CAD side of things but I am gradually being pushed more and more into the aspects I really don't enjoy as mentioned above. I've moved jobs but keep being put into similar roles now.