Home General Discussion

Help...Getting started in 3D modeling

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
So, I am just 19 y.o. guy who wants to start his career as 3D artist, especially in character creation. But I have many questions that really make me confused and little depressed:)

First, I have never drew some complicated things in my life, just some ordinary stuff, and right now I have no strong skill to earn money or whatever, is it a point not to get started? Or maybe I should try, even If I am new in this. I drew some pictures on these days, and I feel that I have passion and some little talent especially in illustration.    

Okay, If I have started from the very begining, I think it will take a lot of time to develop a good skill, maybe a year or something, maybe even more. So in this year, for me it's not possible to create something really good in 3Ds Max right? Because I don't have this skill of drawing and modeling and it's just in developing stage.

After one year or even more I will only take a start in good 3d modeling process, and the other question appears - competition between others. So, because I have very poor skill and I am in very begging, how should I earn the money? Through the freelance? Nobody will take me this young in a good company, no companies need newbies in their work. On the freelance there are many people too who do their jobs at decent level. If I will take a position straight as they have taken, same quality of projects, fast creation and etc, how much money will I earn on the beggining stages? This question bothers me most, because I live in a poor european country called Moldova and I am at his point in my life when I should take a strong decision, where I should go next and how my life should look like in future, what is my profession and goal. In my country I will earn very little money, maximum 300 $ each month. So I got stuck:)