Home General Discussion

Asking for advice as new artist in the industry

Hello everybody! Im very new here in polycount and also new in the cg industry and I would like to ask for advice from those who have been in the industry for a long time that may have gone through the same experience. First off, this topic may sound a little too personal since its coming straight from the bottom of my heart so this maybe a long read for you guys. Anyways, let's start!

I recently graduated with a degree in design while majoring in 3D and chose the path as a 3D artist. I've tried my luck in applying for a job but almost all the studios i have tried applying are only looking for experienced artists and saying i dont have enough experience to work with. It went on leaving me unemployed for quite awhile. With only 2years of experience under my belt as a student I do understand that its gonna be a tough road ahead of me. 

Anyways, since I live in Canada, i thought of doing freelance work instead and try my luck there. I managed to score a position in a new company from the USA as a 3D modeler. It's been a fun experience for me since im finally able to work and put my skills to some use and at the same time work at the comfort of my own home with the extra benefits of me not having a hard time to find some personal time to do my personal work. Although, Im recently starting to doubt the actions I've been doing the past few months working like this and not getting paid up-front since they only give out a profit sharing plan and will only start to give you an invoice once the project launches. Of course, who am I to whine since I AM just currently a fresh meat in the industry and still has a long way to go and I do understand this myself.