Home General Discussion

Advice on using a pseudonym / pen name as a game artist?

xhi
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
xhi polycounter lvl 2
Hello,

I'm a student in my senior year as a game artist and am stressing over something really silly (imo).  I personally don't feel comfortable using my real last name professionally for a couple of reasons.

1. If I get married my last name will change
2. My full name + .com brings up someone else's portfolio which misrepresents who I am
3. My last name is really "basic" and doesn't turn up results for me in a search
4. I've gone by the nickname sxhi in different social media so everything matches, but I can change that easily since I haven't made a huge presence online yet.

These seem like semi valid reasons to use my first name + Xhi as a last name.  One note is that I wouldn't permanently change that or put it on my resume/professional contact, just for my portfolio, business cards, and social media.  Maybe even put Xhi in parentheses with my last name at the end.

Some concerns:

1. People will question me constantly
2. People might think I'm childish? and/or won't accept who I am as a person

Any thoughts?  I've asked friends but I need some advice from a different perspective.

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    I think there are a lot of high quality game artists that are famous within our community that don't use their real name. Only a screen name. I would imagine that when they show up to interviews, or people see their resume, it brings the same "YOU`RE ____?!?!?!?!" response. 

So I say follow your instincts. If you don't want to use your real name, don't. Pick a screen name and stick with it. 
  • monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    "I would totally skip over a portfolio if it had a pseudonym instead of a real name."