Home News

Planning, sculpting and presentation

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
adam polycounter lvl 19

Inside we'll take a quick peek at a few things happening at three other 3D community sites: NextgenHardSurface, Game-Artist and ZBrushCentral.

Next Gen Hard Surface

There's a great planning thread on a UDK level by user Neolight. Thread's like these can be the most effective way of presenting your projects. It's how I do my posts, and not only does it help give the people reading your thread the most amount of information you can, it forces you to think out every last detail of your project. Whether its a character or an environment piece (or an effect, or an animation, or..) it pays to take the time to do your threads this way.

dzab has created a rather convincing HK416. Convincing to me, anyway, as I am by no means a gun expert. A lot of you enjoy weapons of this nature, so I am sure you'll dig dzab's thread.

In addition to some awesome hardsurface modeling, NGHS likes to conduct Interviews from time-to-time. This time around, they're speaking with Grant Warwick.

Could you tell us about your workflow, from concept to getting the model into an engine?

Depending on how complex a scene is I will prepare a rough mockup in photoshop, although most of the time I will just Wing it and start modeling with
no reference as its often not needed. I don't work in games so I have never had to deal with game engines however working in film has forced me to be very conscious of the cleanliness of a model and I always check for things that can get you elbowed in the head from producers like overlapping verts.

Game-Artist.net