Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

ZBrush Critique ~First Post on Polycount

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
This is my first time posting on here, and I just wanted to see if I could get some constructive criticism about the character I am sculpting in ZBrush. His name is "Choke" the chicken, and he is the mascot for the chicken shop named "What the Cluck?". I am working on my sculpt of him for a senior portfolio class, and I am planning on getting it 3d printed when I am finished. This is also my first sculpt in ZBrush ever.

Her is my concept art:

Here is my model so far: (sorry it took me so long to get the orthographics up)

Replies

• DashXero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DashXero polycounter lvl 11
    Welcome to Polycount. Just from what I am able to see, it looks like you're depending on your orthographic views. Frankly, it's tough to provide any meaningful advice with just a front view of your sculpt because it's difficult to judge the forms. It might help to provide a 3/4 view of the front and rear with perspective turned on.

Also, I'm noticing that certain things aren't the same on both sides. Do you know about symmetry? You can press "X" and sculpting on one side of the model affects the other(as long as the Y axis is vertical, and the Z axis is front/rear).

I hope this helps, and so far, it looks like a good first attempt.
  • Nistrum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nistrum polycounter lvl 9
    Hey man welcome!

i would say a toony chicken is probably making your life a little harder than it needs to be. like Dash said. its a little hard to tell from orthographic style views but he looks kinda flat.

If i were you i would break it down more. Aim small Miss small.

so if you just get the basic shape by taking simple geometry and using the move tools. then start making a specific part. like the head say, and trying to get the basic form right. before trying to focus in on details.