Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Unity 5] Sci-Fi (-ish) laboratory scene

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
praesidenter greentooth
Hi there,

I’ve been reading here for a while now and I'm one of those guys who for some reason never show their stuff. So I want to start both giving and receiving more feedback and decided to post here.
I’m by no means a professional when it comes to cgi or game art in general, but I spend a good amount of my free time modeling, texturing or playing with Unity. I’m also a passionate gamer, so discovering these forums was amazing for me. Didn’t even know that there was such a huge community for this.

Here's my moodboard. My art direction probably won’t be as good as in these references and everything will be a lot simpler, but this doesn’t have to be a portfolio piece (as I don’t have a portfolio  ). Still, I want this to be as good as I can make it. Also, I want the scene to be a bit dirtier and not so shiny like some of those images.
bS6YTVEjpg

This is a screenshot of some of the assets I want to use. Nothing spectacular - basically just cubes -, but I'm happy they are working in a modular way (screenshot taken in Cinema)
RRjKrD7png

I also made a very rough blockout to try to get a feel for the space:
[ame]

I already want to change a few things (make the big room even bigger, get rid of one of the corridors, maybe fewer rooms...), but wanted to show it anyway.

Workflow:
I'm using Cinema 4D for modeling and UVs (I really like Cinema, but the UV tools are... well, not THAT good) and I recently bought substance after trying their demo, so I'll use that for texturing. The engine will be Unity.
A quite unusual combination in these forums I guess.

I’d be very happy if some of you pros took some time to give advice and feedback! I try to update this thread whenever I have to show something new and I'll check for feedback daily. Thanks!

Replies

• RobeOmega
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RobeOmega polycounter lvl 10