Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Space guy and ship

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
[kaz] polycounter lvl 9
Finally decided I needed to start on this personal project.

I'm still fairly new to Zbrush work, so this will be a pretty big project for me. If you have any tricks to share with me, please comment!

I'm making a backstory for him as I go, but basically, he's an old dude who has fled/been banished from his native planet and ended up stuck on a very far away planet with a parasitic organism on it. The organism integrated with the ship, and connects with the pilot in a symbiotic relationship. The pilot finds food for the organism, and in turn, the organism converts it to usable nutrients for the pilot to share when he is connected to the ship. The organism also enhances the ship's abilities, and they travel system to system in a really desolate area of space to find either the way home or a place to live.

The pilot comes from a really fancy society and I wanted his space suit to look as ridiculous as possible. Here are my first few sketches:
spaceman_sketches_by_syncrasis-d9agzx1.jpg

I was favoring the middle helmet, and decided that I should make the spaceship tall to match that shape. Here is my Zbrush sketch, I'll be using Topogun to make some cleaner hard surface to work from soon.
tumblr_nv23huxFd41qdt0m6o1_1280.jpg

I haven't started making the organic pieces of the design asymmetrical yet, and I'm thinking about putting a brain-like tumor between the engines. Mmm gross stuff

Replies

• Tectonic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tectonic polycounter lvl 10
    this looks like its going to be really cool. I like the silhouette of the middle design as well. the design reminds me a bit of some of Moebius' art.
  • [kaz]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [kaz] polycounter lvl 9
    Tectonic wrote: »