Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

How to become a good digital artist?

Just a little about me, i'm 16 and have absolutely zero artistic ability or talent - When i start drawing, I look at stick figures and start having second thoughts. I do a little 3D modeling, but aside from that my 2D skills are pretty poor. But I desperately want to be a good artist.

To all you amazing polycount artists, do you have any advice for someone with no talent who wants to become a good artist? Keeping in mind i'm starting from square 1 with no previous experience in traditional art?

Replies

• ayoub44
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ayoub44 polycounter lvl 10
    i'm still learning too . i think just start posting your work ! and get crits and keep improving :)
  • lamb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lamb polycounter lvl 7
    Aquas wrote: »
    To all you amazing polycount artists, do you have any advice for someone with no talent who wants to become a good artist? Keeping in mind i'm starting from square 1 with no previous experience in traditional art?

As from someone who has no talent either, be prepared to work hard, have no social life, see your peers outgrow you in disturbing paces and get the jobs you always wanted. Soak in any knowledge you can and try to improve your visual mindset.

At least I tend to think too much in words, which is not very good. Try to learn to understand the things you are drawing instead of learning shortcuts. When drawing from reference, do not keep your eyes on it for too long. The analytical mind tells you where each line goes how they align etc. but this does not teach you how to see things. Instead take a look and try to visualize the object in your mind. This will train your imagination and you will eventually "learn" talent.