Home General Discussion

Vray vs. Renderman vs. Arnold.

I am new to rendering software, I'm looking to do realistic 3D renders, both still frames and animations.

Is there any clear difference between Vray, Arnold, or Renderman?

It seems that Renderman has somewhat of a higher credibility, given its involvement in movies like Ultron, Jurassic world, the lego movie...

What do you guys think?

Replies

• Shrike
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    Octane is also worth a look, pretty easy to use too and renders in real time progressively, pretty cool but not as many features.

Arnold is said to have the most realistic renderings but theres probably a bigger learning curve also renders take a lot longer as it dosnt cheat,so have a strong computer, Vray is widely used and gives great results and should have most documentation , Rendermen seems more niche but I dont know. You should ask in a movie CG forum, hardly anyone uses offline here.
  • DireWolf
    Any render engines out there these days can do realistic render. Go ahead and get started with whatever engine available to you. Once you get the idea down, it applies across the board. There may be technical differences but the core understanding of a good render is the same regardless.

If you use Blender, Cycle is an excellent free engine. Renderman non commercial is also getting ported over.
  • clinington
    Offline / Send Message
    clinington polycounter lvl 10
    Arnold does give fantastic results. I learnt it a few years ago at University and there was a massive learning curve then as there was very little support available. However, Solid Angle seem to have some good support pages now. I highly recommend it for realistic renders. With that being said, another option for stills could be Keyshot... It is really easy to use!
  • Shrike
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    I dont know, Keyshot looks good, especially compared to default stuff or realtime but