Home General Discussion

How long will it take to make a low poly model of this building?

Hello everyone,

I am a freelance 3D artist and a company wants me to make a low poly version of the next mall http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/9166/index2n0.jpg. I have more experience modelling for animation and films so I need some advice on this. The models will be used for a Kinect racing game that will be placed on a stand in the mall, the mall is the starting point of the races an the car will pass through all the parking. The camera would be at a car height of course so the work has to be more focused on the ground level. I am not sure what the polygon count limit will be. Can somebody please tell me roughly how long will it take to make a textured model like this? Much appreciated.

Replies

• DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Are the parkings inside the building or just outside?

Well it depends on a lot of factor but for myself, If I don't need to model any interior space I'd estimate ~2 weeks for complete model + texture. Considering you probably don't need to do any sculpting and all details could be done on the texture side. there are a lot of repeating pattern all over the building so that's something you can take advantage of.

If there's interior involved it could take a month at least depends on how complex it is inside.
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Good, cheap, fast ... pick two. :)
  • inti11
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks very much guys! It will really help me to tell them a realistic time to complete the work

DireWolf, thanks for the advice! They just want the parkings that are outside and the interior is not required either, so I will go for 2 weeks roughly as you estimate. I will definitely try to take advantage of the repeating pattern as much as possible.

WarrenM, thanks for the info! I hope I can do it fast too! :)