Home General Discussion

Are there positions for level designers who aren't artists?

I like level designing. I have a degree from a legitimate brick and mortar university in their arts and technology program. (The university is respected, the program is a mess and I honestly would have switched programs if I hadn't been going off and on and was already so far in, but nonetheless I have a 4 year degree).

I've only been able to find one "job", without pay, basically interning. It was supposed to turn to a paid gig but "somehow" things kept slipping through the cracks. (Right). So I respectfully resigned after 8ish months.

It's been over a year since and I just cannot find a thing. I can't even get a rejection letter.

I'd post my portfolio but I have it down at the moment to revamp it. In hindsight I suppose I should have finished that before making the post. I guess that's why it's 20/20. I don't want to brag, but I think my hindsight is 20/15.

Now my issues:

1) I'm not a conventional artist. I am not good at 3D modeling. That is to say I can block out scenes for level designs and I'm aware how to FUNCTIONALLY use 3D software like 3DS Max and Maya, but I can't make pretty things.

2) I'm getting old. I recently turned 30. I don't mind paying my dues, but at what point am I just slamming my head into a mountain hoping that the peak lowers?

So I guess, long story short, are there positions for people who like to conceive levels, build them with assets they did not create, and script events for said levels?

The only other thing I've ever had interest in was animation, but I'd be so far behind in practice that I don't know if I could ever catch up to some of these people.

I've put so much time into trying to get anywhere in the industry that even thinking about going back to what I was doing before makes me want to crawl into a tank of scorpions.

Replies

• pangaea
    Offline / Send Message
    pangaea polycounter lvl 5
    There was a similar thread