Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D student in need of critique!

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kevinjohnxson polycounter lvl 2
Hello Polycount Community!

This is my 1st thread on Polycount! Just to introduce myself to the community, I am currently a sophomore Game Art student at LCAD (undecided between character emphasis and environment).

While on summer break, I'm challenging myself to complete a few props and learn the basics of Zbrush to start character sculpting.

It would be greatly appreciated to get any pointers/critique to make my work the best I possibly can!

Thank you!

This is the Midpoly of Prop 1 before I continue on to the High Poly.

Reference
ULxGTir.jpg

Mid Poly Block in
d44AHDd.jpg
eQIsGRy.jpg

Replies

• 3dReaper
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3dReaper polycounter lvl 4
    Good start.

I noticed two aspects you could work on.

First you modeled geo on the lenses when the ref images show no physical ridges.

Second, the cans should be modeled into the main canister, see below for ref/tips.

Hard Surface Topology Reference Archive

http://imgur.com/a/dEWXP

Be sure to add the weld detail to the piece, this will really add to the overall prop.

Lastly, I am not 100% sure but looking at the ref image, the lantern on the right, and on its left side, the part with a cylindrical-like detail, isn't that a door? I would imagine that is where the user would place the fuel or light the lantern. It looks like you only modeled a frame of sorts.
  • kevinjohnxson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    "First you modeled geo on the lenses when the ref images show no physical ridges.
    Be sure to add the weld detail to the piece, this will really add to the overall prop.