Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique?

Hi there all,

First time properly posting on here (I'm a little nervous!) but I really need some sage portfolio advice so here goes;

-Portfolio link-

I specialize in 3D Modelling and aim to be considered for Environment or Props Artist roles.

With that target in mind, I'm looking for some suggestions for my next portfolio piece to strengthen my employability, so any opinions on what you feel I lack/you'd like to see would be appreciated also! (I'm considering recreating this church setting realistically in UE4?)

Hit me with your honest opinions and be brutal :-)

Replies

• Stavaas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stavaas polycounter lvl 3
    This looks pretty good Chelsea! I really enjoy how easy it was to navigate your portfolio, and that it was to the point.
    Your modeling is great, and the stylized textures are top notch IMO.
  • Zephron
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm no professional, but here are some quick things I noticed immediately:

You don't have a quick way to glance over your projects. Overall I have to do a ton of clicking and navigating just to get to what I want to see.

I have to direct myself to each project's individual page. I have no idea if "Barkingham Palace" is visually what I'm searching for, but I have to guess.

On your index, or perhaps on a new "Projects" page, show a thumbnail for each of your projects so I know what each one is going to be about.

Specifically on projects such as "Barkingham", you showcase an interesting view of your palace, but there's only one image and it's pretty zoomed out.

I can't adequately analyze the image and since you claim it's "WIP", you should maybe rename the page to focus on the character or wait until the project is more complete till you put it on your website.

This lack of extra angles & images seems to be a consistent theme when I see your other pages such as "Taco Store" and "Throne of the Dead"