Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

How would do you approach cliff modeling?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
AlexBes polycounter lvl 4
Hi guys! I'm new to environment modeling and now exploring techniques for modeling cliffs like the one on the picture below.
I attempted to model this as separate stones that was sticked to the terrain in the editor, but it's not even close to what I was going for.
I would like to hear any tips and tricks you use to model this type of cliffs. Thanks!
foto10.jpg
Here's my attempt:
7be07-clip-228kb.jpg

Replies

• MisterSande
    Offline / Send Message
    MisterSande polycounter lvl 8
    It really depends on the purpose and size of the environment. If the environment is pretty large (like part of a big lake environment) then I would generate a coastal terrain inside of worldmachine and texture paint it inside the desired engine with some tiled materials. You can then add minor props like river rocks/grass etc. (you already did this pretty well)

If it is a smaller environment then I would treat it like an asset but I would still start out the same way: generate a coastal terrain inside of worldmachine > then import it into Zbrush and manually sculpt adjustments > bake it down > texture etc.

You can also start out inside a modeling program like 3DSMax, first doing some simple plane extrusions and then "Extrude along spline". This is very usefull in production if you already have a "base terrain" but need to add new geological features like this lake. I haven't tried it yet but I bet you get great result if you import your mesh (after "extruding it along a spline" ) inside of worldmachine to get natural erosion.
  • AlexBes
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for quick response!
    Environment is quite large and this cliff is just a small part of it.
    Haven't tried world machine yet, I'll give it a go. I'll post some pics if I get something reasonable.
  • dystopianghost
    Offline / Send Message