Home General Discussion

Exploring the notion

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
hexflow polycounter lvl 4
Today I am a network engineer and have been doing it for 20+ years, I discovered the love and hobby of Art, mostly in the 3D space about 4 years ago and realized I have a passion for it.

I am toying with the notion and trying to explore what it realistically would look like if I self taught myself, with some serious discipline for about 12-18 months then tried to get a job in the industry. Not necessarily in the gaming space, but just doing 3D work or art of some kind.

I accept the salary difference and that is not a big deal, just trying to determine if getting a job would be extremely difficult with only 12-18 months of self taught experience and portfolio and what the likely pay range would be.

Again just exploring the notion of.

Replies

• Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    To answer your question we would need to see some of your 3D work, as it depends on your current level.
  • Kevin Albers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Albers polycounter lvl 18
    Specific 3D art skills are not the same as general art skills (such as having a good eye for design, composition, color etc). Spending 12-18 months purely on the 'learning 3D skills' might get you to the point where you are employable somewhere, but you wouldn't be able to simultaneously become a good overall artist in that time frame, unless you already are one.

So if your goals are realistic, you can probably make plenty of progress in that time frame. :)
  • hexflow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hexflow polycounter lvl 4
    Yes foundation comes first and that would be worked on in parallel, some of that I have already been exposed to and worked on but always something to learn and growth to be experienced.