Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sky-Pirate project [W.I.P] (A character design study)

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Salem Gamorrah polycounter lvl 9
F027280, FYP, Character design study.

[NOTE] I was unsure where this thread belonged. I am creating a 3D model, but feel free to move it wherever you think it belongs best.

[NOTE2] I am not a professional. I'm an amateur looking to learn and I am very open to CONSTRUCTIVE criticism and any information helpful people may have related to the subject of my educational project. Thank you.

The pirates of the future, sky-pirates

The purpose of my project will be to study the principles of successful character design, the techniques used to create these designs, and then to utilize the results of my research to create my own successful character. Character design and character models are two very important aspects of modern video games. Including even games without blatant characters, such as puzzle games which often feature mascot or background characters, almost every genre and type of game involves a carefully designed character or series of characters which either drive the game's story or with which players need to associate. Well designed characters can often make the difference between making a game memorable and leaving a game forgettable.

It is because of the significant impact that characters have on video games that a huge amount of time and effort are put into their designs in the games industry. So much so, that whilst concept artists have worked away to create characters for games, different 'design-metas' and techniques have been developed and are widely used by many artists. In order to understand why many characters better impact and influence visual media, I intend to examine the differing techniques,processes and principles involved in character creation and design both in concept and modelling.

I have decided to mix classical pirate themes with futuristic themes.