Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Animation Feedback - Human vs. Wyvern

Howdy folks,

It's been awhile since I last posted onto Polycount, though with the new Animation section I thought it'd be great to start posting regularly :)

I am currently working on a project with a Hand Animated Wyvern and a Motion Captured Human fighting. Currently I am at a "First Draft" stage, and there is quite a bit that needs tweaking - though I was wondering if I could get any additional feedback from you guys? Sometimes it's hard to notice the obvious when you've spent so many hours on something... :poly141:

This is my first time working on a creature so this has been a somewhat stressful yet fun experience ;)

Draft One
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9jccwFhsAM[/ame]

Draft Two
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWkj4In9bJ8[/ame]

Draft Three
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxNM8ZofpEI[/ame]

Draft Four
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJTFhdQbwM0[/ame]

This patch fixes minimal things, the positioning of a few things are better and the sword now actually flows properly - huzzah! There are a few cuts to black, turns out when placing the separate scenes into Sony Vegas I left a gap between them - this will be ironed out in the next patch which will be very shortly, this one was just to show the sword is all smooth.

Draft Five
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCTgV3sZ-nI[/ame]

This patch has placed in the Wyvern's reaction to being stabbed, though I think it needs some extension to it which will be added into the next. It also added in a "follow through" for the Wyvern's tail as the Human runs up to it. This is currently what I'd class as rough, I just wanted something placed out ready for tomorrow to get an idea for it.

Patch/Draft Six coming in about 12 hours, it's time to sleep! Any feedback given will be added to the list :)

Planned fixes for Thursday 23rd April 2015