Home Royalties or Post-Launch Compensation Work

Artist needed to collaborate on local coop space game

paco
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
paco polycounter lvl 3

Always wished you could work on an indie sci-fi coop game for PC? Have lots of great ideas on how to make games fun? Lonely in the evenings with more spare time than you know what to do with? Then have I got a deal for you!

I'm a programmer looking for an artist that is passionate about game dev, who can commit 3-4 months to be part of an unpaid small (2-3 person) team to create something cool. The goal is to produce a simple space exploration game with a strong local-coop focus in Unreal Engine.

The core gameplay takes place on a ship hurtling through space, with players assigning themselves to various positions such as gunner, pilot, scavenger. NPCs will be used to fill unused spots allowing 1-4 local players. Initially it will be developed for PC with a possible port to Android. For inspiration think games like Faster-Than-Light and Dungeon Defenders.

It's hugely important to me that you have a sense of involvement in the project, rather than being hired help. As such I'm looking for not just someone to make the art, but someone that can give lots of input into gameplay and overall design. This is a hobby for me, and I find there is nothing worse than working on someone else's project. That's what my day job is for. This needs to be FUN.

If it does well, that's great, but it's not the prime motivator. Any profit will be equally split. I can do all of the programming (see below for my previous projects), and you'll be responsible for all the art including game assets, environments and title screens.

I've been part of multiple projects in the past, and there are lots of horror stories. This game is SMALL, with a tight dealine for a reason. It won't be an AAA FPS or MMORPG. Small, do-able, fun.