Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Artist Portfolio Critique

Hello,

I'm currently a third year student looking for feedback on my portfolio. Please critique. Thanks in advance.

http://www.georgestanford3d.com

Replies

• CrazyMan09
  • photonarbiter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    photonarbiter polycounter lvl 4
    I think the cloth in your night scene is too high poly. You could probably get away with reducing it. I also think that you could have achieved the same look on your floor with a baked texture. Instead of modeling it all from scratch. The reason I say this is because the difference between the two would be negligible. Other than that your scene looks good. I like the horror style. Just make sure that the blood makes sense, it kind of looks randomly placed. You can tell a better story if you put the blood in a spot that shows what happened to the person/thing that left it behind. Keep up the good work.
  • reverendK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    the layout is good and clean.
    you'll want to give more information on the scenes - some texture flats, shots of some of the props by themselves.
    avoid the UDK wireframes. there are better ways to show that if you decide to - though i'd argue that the scene you chose to show wireframe on is not the best scene to do so with - there's a lot of places it could be optimized.
    if you're going to show textures and wireframes for anything - do it for the single props.
    ditch the un-textured well.

keep at it.
  • CrazyMan09
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Guys, will make the changes.
  • Jerry_Royals
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jerry_Royals polycounter lvl 3