Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted wooden planks

Hey there,
I just started out handpainting a little and I'd really appreciate some feedback on those planks.

wood_feedback_zpstit1fbtm.png

Thanks a lot!

Replies

• Awoken
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey ChillyWalrus, nice start! Let me start by saying that I'm no expert at handpainting textures so this will just be my thoughts as a viewer.

The first thing that jumped out to me is that there doesn't seem to be consistency in the look of the grooves across the planks. My favourite is certainly the second in from the right, I think the sharp highlights work really well. I think I prefer the shape of the cracks on this plank too, they are more rigid and have character.

Its not much but I hope that helps a little, might be something to go on until the handpainters get here and give their awesome advice! Looking forward to seeing more!
  • Earthyn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Earthyn polycounter lvl 2
    Is each plank a different style? If not try to keep a theme when you start designing since plank 2 has no real highlights compared to plank 4 and 5.
  • ChillyWalrus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the time and feedback! The inconsistency is kind of intentionally. I started out with the UVs for an 8-sided barrel but found myself at a loss for how to actually paint that thing. I watched a couple how-tos and tutorials but with the grade of stylization and wood in gerneral it seems there are lots of ways to paint. So I thought I could use each side to try different things but in the end I just don't see the strengths and weaknesses in each single plank anymore.
  • theblueturtle_
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    theblueturtle_ polycounter lvl 3