Home General Discussion

Attempting to produce a student short within Unreal 4; we need your advices !

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Blond polycounter lvl 9
Hello Polycounters. I need your advices and on opinions on something me and my friend have been talking about for some time now.

We are currently progressing through our Bachelor in 3D computer animation (Though he studies in the game branch and I am studying in Cinema and VFX as I am learning game engines at home).

Before entering university(both of us will be graduating next year) , we completed a 3 years course in CEGEP (it's like pre-university in French Canada) and 3D and we learned the basics there (which helped us prepare our portfolio to get accepted in the university course).

To complete the 3 years course in CEGEP, students had to produce short films on their own.

This is my short:

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDAD5z5GuvU[/ame]

and this is his.

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vxXPgU3FsxQ[/ame]

2 different types of movie but anyway..

Whatever you think of it, I can assure you that we greatly improved and learned from our mistakes. He's the modeling/texturing/lighting guy and I'm more the rigging/animation type.

Basically, as we are progressing through our academic studies, we hardly have any time to focus on our own projects and since we have so much hoemworks to do in general 3D matters that doesn't interest us (Compositing/pre-rendering for me and he dislikes rigging/animation classes) it's hard for us to complete our port-folios with what we want to specialize in.

To solve that we thought that we could team up and work on a little short this summer within Unreal 4. He'd be the modeler/texturer and I would work on the rigging and the animation.

We're currently working on the design/story and sketches (Pre-production) so we'd work on the production this summer. So no problem till now ecept....