Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Wild West - Punto Muerto Valley (WIP) (Unreal 4)

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
mhofever polycounter lvl 9
The Wild West - Punto Muerto Valley (WIP)

Howdy y'all! I come with you today a project that I just started. Originally I had no plan in creating a wild west-like rocky valley as I was practicing creating modular rocks but later I went overboard and decorated the whole scene with just that one rock mesh. After 2 days of fiddling, I decided I should see it to the end and hear out some feedback from the community. It's something I definitely feel excited to wake up in the morning to and work on.

I started studying references after I set them in stone (pun intended? yes!), how vegetation and rocks blend together, sometimes there are bushes or bits of grass stemming from the cracks or corners. Also checking on the tinier rocks that seems to be more edgy and varied in sizes.

Basic Reference:

myJObZR.jpg
QO9fHEt.jpg
y3HfCmC.jpg

Unreal 4 :

I implemented the dynamic lighting and also global illumination, so whenever I move my directional light, it will still light it really nicely. If the rocks look too samey, the idea I have is to add some decals later on to give them weathering and variance.

For now it's just a natural scene but I plan to add some elements to it to tell a bit of a story. A camp area that's got ransacked or jumped by bandits and such.

ZQngmqW.png
Kjar4Di.png
OgwyaJa.png
lZsVw3O.png
QRRXNAK.png
pDWcUMU.png
n2pLyQH.png
rFaOSex.png

Not the best rock but it could be easily improved. I should have decimated my zbrush sculpt to get more of the details baked in since my computer wasn't able to export 10.1 million polys.

9znh3Nf.png

Many things still needed to be added -

- More vegetation (minor and subtle)
- More smaller rocks for the ground area)
- More nature stuff (bird's nests and stacks of leaves)
- Definitely more props like camp fires and guns and blood and dynamite.