Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Fundamentals - Feedback

sachmo
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
sachmo polycounter lvl 2
Hi, I am brand new to animation and have begun working through 51 Animation Exercises to learn the fundamentals. I just attempted the 2nd exercise and sense that it is not exactly right and I wasn't positive on where I could turn to for feedback on such an elementary animation. If this is the wrong place for this kind of post, let me know. If it is ok, I would be glad to hear any advice / criticism you have.

FWIW, I'm using Photoshop to create the animations and exporting them as an mp4. After reading the sticky on how to get feedback, I have uploaded the mp4 to syncsketch and posted the link below.

cPyUPsJ.jpg

"Bouncing Ball Across Screen"

http://syncsketch.com/playground/d2f74f42e6a54d3e94f49d732879aa50#27337

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Great start! You've actually done a real nice job on this. Just a few minor things. You could add more squash and stretch, particularly the stretch. You've got stretch on the frames after each bounce, but only for 1 frame, and nothing after or before. Stretch for a few frames going into the bounce and a few frames going out.

Also, it looks like you've added a tiny bit of thrust forward on each bounce. The angle the ball leaves the bounce should be the same angle the ball comes into the bounce. You`re close, but not quite. I drew a dot in the middle of your ball on each frame. If you use the ghosting option (looks like 2 ghosts from pac man) you`ll see it.

Keep up the great work!
  • PeteHawk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PeteHawk polycounter lvl 12
    Give it more life! These exercises don't restrict you and they shouldn't.
    I gave my students the same few exercises and they just listen but never explore except one or two. People want to see more then the exercise :)