Home Technical Talk

Poly count comparison of last gen consoles vs. current gen consoles

kevingamerartist
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kevingamerartist polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,
So I haven't posted a new thread for a couple of months, but here it is. Anyways I have a question about the poly count for objects. So I'm an aspiring Junior Environment Artist, and my question is how much has the poly count risen to given with the current gen consoles compared to the last gen consoles? I'm pretty sure I have either heard people talk about this, or I have read about it, but I wasn't too sure whether the current gen consoles increased the polygon count.

I just wanted to make sure that while I'm creating objects I'm not going too low or too high while creating them. I'm transitioning over from UDK, the free version of Unreal Engine 3 to Unreal Engine 4.

Any feedback on this is greatly appreciated. Thank you :)

Replies

• kevingamerartist
    Offline / Send Message
    I forgot to add that if the poly count has indeed increased, how much has it increased by?

Example of what I'm asking is an object being able to be 500 triangles before, but now it can be like 700 triangles or more now in Unreal Engine 4. I'm not sure if this is true or not, but I'm just curious.
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter