Home Technical Talk

Why need low res version of high res of game model when using normal maps?

hakankaraduman
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
hakankaraduman polycounter lvl 3
Hi,

I am making models in 3ds max for 2 years. I am learning Zbrush for a week and have a question.

I studied Introduction to Zbrush course from Digital Tutors , and saw that it creates normal maps by using the subdivision levels. Author creates the map from the highest level (4.4 million polygons) and uses it on the lowest level (4500 polygons) on Maya and recevies perfect result. So, why I see on every other source that people always creates another low res mesh (modelling from scrath) by referencing the high poly mesh (the one which has 4.6 million poly).

Isn't that making a job twice, why do they do it? What do I miss and don't catch here. Why don't we just use the lowest subdiv mesh as a low res mesh.

I am asking this question regarding game development, I want to learn zbrush to create characters and other assets to use in games.

Thanks in advance to everyone who tries to help answering this.

Replies

• GlowingPotato
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GlowingPotato polycounter lvl 10
    You do when you want your low poly to have one exact shape, since sculpting its highers lvls is destructive.
  • Fwap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fwap polycounter lvl 13
    Well, sometimes your lowest subdivision mesh isn't optimized for games i.e poor edge flow from using dynamesh or to many edges where you don't need them.

Creating another lower poly version of that mesh gives you greater control on what geo you need and what geo can be just faked by using normal maps.
  • Kel-Shaded
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kel-Shaded polycounter lvl 6