Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Seeking Feedback Demo Reel

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to these forums and this is my first time posting for a critique. I am looking for honest feedback to help me improve my game animation reel.

Please let me know what you think and any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!

Angel

[vv]120661892[/vv]

Replies

• heboltz3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heboltz3 polycounter lvl 9
    Hey Angel! Cool stuff, and congrats on your first post for critique!

Jumping in, I'm going to start by focusing on the reel presentation. A great presentation can go a long way effectively making your work pop, while a poor presentation can sink even the best animation. With this in mind, here are a couple of suggestions you might want to consider.

First off, I would really suggest having a title card, even just for a few seconds, at the beginning of the reel, so HR/other artists know who they are looking at.

Secondly, I believe you will probably want to have a similar rendering style throughout your entire reel, as some of your work is playblasted, and some is rendered out with lights. Personally, they both work fine, but I think having mixed styles in the same reel is a bit strange to me, makes me wonder why they all aren't rendered. Whatvever your style is, you should keep it standardized throughout the reel.

Finally, I feel like the reel could be re-organized a bit. Right now it starts with the FPS guy, then to the creature, then to the fight scene (which is incredibly quick), so your first three shots seem to be (presumably) from three different projects. I would suggest perhaps focusing on the full FPS guy animation set first, then moving to something else.

It's also worth noting that your audio is a bit distracting, specifically when the fight scene starts/ends, and at the end how it just clips out. I know most HR view reels muted, but this also goes with the full presentation thing.