Home Technical Talk

[Utter Newbie] - Looking for help on shaders!

Hey,

I'm a second year university student, and as part of the new group project, been tasked with creating a post-process chain and shader materials to replicate a piece of artwork for a vertical slice of game play.

Ivan_Bilibin_024_variation.jpeg

In short, I need to try and replicate that image, but in 3D, in UDK.

I'm completely new to the technical aspect of both shaders and post processing as a 3D artist, any links/tutorials/documentation anyone could point me towards would be super helpful!

Cheers!

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Sorry, no links, but here are some tips to point you to the right direction:

What you can see here is that things has outline, the lowest shadow tone is around 0,6, it has a fabric like pattern, and the "textures are really simplified, almost just flat colors.

So...the "flat" look of the textures can come from the textures themselves, just paint in this style

Outlines can be done in 2 ways, one is a post process effect that use sobel edge detection. The another solution would be a duplicated mesh with black color, and inverted faces.

The color/shadow value setup can also come from the materials (adjusted curve of the phong shading), but you can use color corrections too , which is a post process effect.

The fabric pattern can be done with a post process, its the simplest part of the whole thing, you just need a small grayscale tiling texture.
  • jakebelgian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Awesome, so;

-create a post process to manage the black outline, I'm thinking this over the alternative as some of the meshes we'll be using are fairly dense (beyond my control unfortunately)

- Paint textures flat; would I bother with any high poly bakes? I'm experimented using flat colour with a normal map and it doesn't quite match the style.