Home Technical Talk

Perspective Camera's "Fly To" Command Not Moving As Expected

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
daniellooartist polycounter lvl 12
Hello everyone. I'm having some trouble isolating a problem with the fly to command. You know when you hit F and the camera gradually glides to the selected object? My camera view snaps to some random point on the grid before instantaneously teleporting itself to the object that I want to rotate around. Although I do get my camera to center in on an object, I would much rather prefer the camera to gradually glide to the object rather than thrashing itself around the scene.

Theory: I THINK the problem occurred because I set Y to be "up" instead of Z. I changed it back to see if the problem would go away, but no luck. The only reason i think that this had something to do with changing the up direction is because everything was working just fine until i started playing with that.

What I have Attempted So Far
  • This problem only happens in my file (MyScene.mb) and the issue does not occur in any other file. Just this one.
  • Restarted Maya and reopened MyScene.mb
  • Deleted history
  • optimized scene
  • Reset perspective and orthographic cameras to "Default Veiw"
  • This problem only happens with the perspective camera. I tried to make a new perspective camera. Pressing F does absolutely nothing when viewing the scene with a newly created perspective camera
  • I wanted to press F on an object with an orthographic camera. When I pressed F in any of the orthographic views, the fly to command did not respond at all.
  • Temporarily deleted everything in the outliner and created a random cube to see if the problem still occurred. it did.
  • Pressing 4 or 7 on the keyboard to get a wireframe view in any of the cameras does not work. I'm not sure if this is related or not but I thought it was worth mentioning. It's almost like I'm stuck in shading mode as well.