Home General Discussion

Anyone know about port settings?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
KeirKieran polycounter lvl 3
I need to be able to connect to the server at work, but for some reason it's not working. If I can't make it work, I'll have to literally live at work for the next 2 weeks.

I've tried everything. I'm pretty good with computers but I've hit the limit of my skills on this one. I've enabled remote desktop in the settings. I've completely shut down Windows Firewall to no effect. I ping the server and get replies, but I can't connect with Remote Desktop.

Help pages said about checking port 3389. I tried sites that do that but one couldn't see it and the other said it was closed. I followed a tut to create a special rule for making 3389 open, but nothing.

Nearly everything I find for this problem, seems to assume that I have a degree in computer engineering. There's zero help that isn't a sea of code and lingo.

Please, does anyone have any ideas? I was able to connect during the summer but now it won't work.

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Port settings are all on your router. You need to log into your router and open the port.

Otherwise you can try hamachi,
    https://secure.logmein.com/products/hamachi/

I used to use is to have lan matches in old games over the internet.
  • kaptainkernals
    Offline / Send Message
    kaptainkernals polycounter lvl 12
    Doesn't your work have an IT department? They're usually responsible for server security, as well as setting up VPNs for staff to access the work server from off site.

It's more than just ports I imagine, it's often authentication, you may have the correct ports, but you don't have the correct credentials, or IP string to access the server - the server will refuse the connection if it's not within a set range often (depending on how IT has set it up).