Home General Discussion

Time Estimates for Mesh/Texture creation (static/vehicle exterior/low poly)

MattLloyd
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
MattLloyd polycounter lvl 6
Hello,

This is my first post here (other than the mandatory 'hello'!)

A bit of background first:

I'm currently working on a project in my spare time (I work as a developer for a major Australian TV manufacturer - writing a variety of types of software from database tools for our logistics etc to android apps for our smart TVs).

I've written games in the past (wrote a whole bunch between 2002 and 2009) generally doing all the media assets myself, although I have occasionally contracted out work for concept & 3d art as well as music. My academic background is in mathematics (completed a Science degree in 1999) along with a bit of engineering as well as teaching....

My current project is a little more ambitious than my previous ones yet I do feel that it is well within my capabilities. I've planned out (all in writing) a considerable amount of the tasks that need to be completed - including everything from individual database fields, queries, user interface flow, gui elements, 3d meshes (including poly counts, textures, etc), individual sound effects, music loops. Along with that I have a time frame for when I see myself completing each of the tasks, at least the tasks I can do myself. And I've already written a large amount of the code/server back end and have tested a proof of concept for the 3d environment.

so where am I going with this?