Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Warrior Animation Project

UberLou
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
UberLou polycounter lvl 4
Hey guys! Wanted to post an animation project I've been working on for at least 3 years on and off. I do game animations all day so this has been more of an experimental learning project.

The characters are 3D and composited to achieve a 2D look. Backgrounds are 2D. I'm not very good at modeling so the cartoon rendering helps hide that a little.
mainChar01.jpg

I originally had a story and started doing concepts for it all, but I didn't really have enough time (or talent) to execute it well. So I boiled it down to a fight scene so I could concentrate on the parts I was really interested in - the look and the animation.
FinalRenderTest01.jpg

Watching Last Airbender\Korra really got me interested in animating at 12fps and I learned a lot framing through those shows. I've been experimenting with smear frames and whether I should do that in 3D or paint them in Photoshop. Here's a very WIP gif showing that.

anrw2nK.gif

And finally, here is a video showing off some of the more finished but still WIP scenes.
To8fsVs.jpg

That's it for now. Any crits or anything are very welcome.

-Lou

Replies

• heboltz3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heboltz3 polycounter lvl 9
    Real great stuff Lou!

How did you do the composition? Just render out the 3d in maya/max and do everything else in After Effects? I'd love to hear a bit more about your process/challenges with going in 12fps.
  • Felixenfeu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Felixenfeu polycounter lvl 10
    Wow ! Really like that look. I like the idea of animating on fewer fps on purpose.
  • Forty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Forty polycounter lvl 2