Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Leanne Reed

Hello!
I’m a Games Art student with a big, ongoing character design brief that I would love to show and get some critique on!

My brief was to design, concept and create both in traditional 3D and digital 3D a concept based on myself but from a completely different cultural background. After some internet research research I found a BBC article about one of the worlds only female eagle hunter apprentice in Mongolia http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-26969150 and thought this would be an interesting, fairly unknown culture to base my character.

To further this I wanted my character to be a different age from myself, and as some of my previous character work featured much older ladies I chose to mirror the real life inspiration and make my character a young girl of about 13.

I really struggled with the initial silhouette phase with this project, I did a lot of stylistic research across the internet and collated it onto a Pinterest board, http://www.pinterest.com/leanneagram/culture-character-design/ so I already had a fairly good idea of the clothing I wanted my character to have, and being a 13 year old girl I felt a bit limited by body type (other than thin/chubby, not heroic or too tall which might suggest a much older character), the only thing I wasn’t sure about was giving my character the tradition Mongolian wage hunter’s fur hat, which I decided much later with the mock-up/photo bash designs.

7CoDfytl.jpg
1BXNLAGl.jpg
swiXILrl.jpg
lBPhY1yl.jpg

When feeling stuck in the silhouette stage I did a few rough water colour sketches to see if I liked where the character was going, looking back these were before too much research into 13year old’s proportions and look way off!
GqJ8Psql.jpg
uZ74bAol.jpg
JAlYggel.jpg