Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Building a character

Im a second year game student at Warwickshire college and i have recently in devoured into creating a character from concept to final finished piece, i have used a mix of traditional art with digital art. The digital art done is my first attempt at; the digital art in hindsight isn't the best and i have decided to invest more time in learning better techniques to refine my own skills.

The brief set was to select an era and base a character replicating the the culture of that era, i decided it would be best to have my character as a warrior as i could give a dynamic well structured final piece.

The starting place was my brain storm and from there on my pre concepts to a final concept piece i am currently working on the 3d side and will be uploading my 3d work piece by piece as this thread goes on.

ugfZnI3.jpg

When i first started this brief i wanted to base my character of the native american culture but i later decided that i would change my character to a gladiator. As the gladiator would allow me to show a better knowledge of my anatomy skill set, i would also be able to show a diversity in textures and clothing types.

I started off with some silhouettes which wasn't my usual style but i thought it would be best to try different methods of conceptual drawing.

uEEeBda.jpg

I then started to add tone to produce texture i didn't enjoy this method and decided soon after to change my character design completely.

6FmDruR.jpg

I decided to start from scratch and just draw and see what i felt comfortable with.

wAcy2Ln.jpg

This lead me on to a more comfortable path of drawing rough sketches which helped me flesh out the concept of a gladiator.

Ise5hZA.jpg

sZrM4PK.jpg

MjlZEOE.jpg

I decided it would be best to try get over my fear of digital and approach concept art using a cintiq a device which i will be spending more time with as it forms a more natural movement when drawing.

vTAFRl9.jpg