Home Technical Talk

User Interface Design

Maybe this is the wrong part of the forum, maybe this is the wrong website all together.

I want to know how to be a user interface designer.

I have a degree in illustration, and completed a post grad course in Game Art.

Family issues have kept me out of the 3D gaming creation loop for 3 years.

I've been doing some inventory in life and what I keep coming back to is User Interface Design.

I'm looking into self learning ActionScript with the old version of Adobe Flash that I have.

What else is there? Any specific schools that offer User Interface Design courses? Do I find a mentor? Walk around with a portfolio of icons and buttons and hope someone is interested? I don't have any Interface Design pieces in my current portfolio because learning the programming language is my current barrier.

If you are a User Interface Designer, please tell me how you became one.

I assume my background in Illustration combines with a scripting language of some kind. Looking at modding interfaces for some of the games I play, I've learned that there is texture map and a game code with coordinates to that texture map. Changing the images in a texture map (and staying within the coordinates) seems like a good way to practice the design aspect but how does that kind of thing translate into a CAREER as a User Interface Designer?

To be clear, I'm not talking about User Experience Design, although I realize it is almost the same thing.

My portfolio:
http://www.maonlyart.com

Replies

• Ashaman73
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashaman73 polycounter lvl 6
    I'm not certain that there's something like a dedicated career as UI designer in game development. UI in games depends heavily on the game design and is more or less part of it. An artist will most likely only tweak and finish the visual conecpt of a UI design, but first comes function and useability defined by the game design (and input devices).