Home Marmoset

Textures Are a Mess

I'm new to Marmoset, and I'm still grappling with texturing, in general.

I have a basic OBJ file for the walls of a room imported into TB2. But any of the presets I use lay the textures horribly wrong. This is something probably pretty basic. What am I missing?

This happens when exporting the walls mesh as OBJ or FBX.

See screen shot.

Thank you in advance if you have time to respond.

Edit: I've read through the manual but haven't found an answer. Granted, the manual is for v1.0.

Replies

• almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    It looks like your mesh either has no UV's or is being exported without them. I'd check that first :)
  • cartermrobbinson
    Thanks, almighty_gir.

Looks like that was at least part of it. I did a test of just a single wall, with UVs.
    Exported as OBJ.
    Imported to Marmoset, and put the Quixel Brick material on.

Where do UV's show up in Marmo?
    Where can I adjust how big/small the images appear on the meshes?

Thank you.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Currently we do not support uv tiling directly in Marmoset Toolbag, so you will have to set up your uvs exactly how you want them in your 3d app before exporting. This means scaling the uvs in the uv editor to tile the desired amount.
  • cartermrobbinson
    Thanks EarthQuake. I'll give that a try. UV'ing and texturing is still something I struggle with.
  • cartermrobbinson
    I've been playing w/ the UV's in Lightwave, and then exporting my wall, which is just a simple rectangular cube, no chamfers. Keeping it simple while I learn.

By resizing UV's in LW I can make the brick texture in Marmoset larger/smaller, but two more questions arise:

1. The Quixel Brick tex is smaller, but now you can see the tiling. How can I correct that?

2. Circled in the attached screenshot is an option to pick UV Set 0 or 1. What does that mean?