Home Technical Talk

3DS Max: I want to make a "Normal-map-like" material, in editable world space.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Stenrik polycounter lvl 6
Hi,

Forgive me if this is a noob question, but I AM a noob to Max materials, and wasn't able to google this. Also I hope this is the right site to ask at. (It's ultimately for a game, but it's a technique more for concept/pitch art...)

I am rendering elements of a scene that I intend to bring into Photoshop. I would then use channels to create layers based on the angle of the model's faces.

Like this: http://galaxycityradio.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/03_normals_sphere.png

So I need to be able to color all polygons of my objects based on where they're facing in the world.

For example...
Blue: All polygons completely perpendicular with the Z axis (facing into the sky or ground) would be pure blue.
Red: Same, except for red on the X axis.
Green: Same, except for green on the Y axis.

All polygons facing partially up or down would be a color blend.
(Ideally, I'd be able to customize the direction of colors, so that pure red is facing between X and Y somewhere, but I could just rotate the entire scene as a workaround.)

The closest I've been able to get with this is the "Falloff" map, applied to a standard material. I can set it to world space and select 2 colors. However, this only allows me to use the effect with 2 colors, and I need 3 to do what I'm trying to do properly.

I tried applying the "normal" map in the same fashion, but I know that's the wrong one to use since it needs, well, a MAP. It doesn't seem to generate. All I know is that I'm trying to do something similar in principle to how normal maps are generated.