Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sahir Irfan - Portfolio Critique

I'm in my 3rd year at college in Chicago, and I decided to rework my portfolio. At this time, I'm looking for a modeling type of internship, whether as a Prop Artist or Environment Artist. I'm open to any feedback and suggestion on how I can improve my portfolio.
www.sahirirfan.carbonmade.com

Thanks!

Replies

• AngryMindtricks
    I think the biggest issue I'd have with your environments are that the lighting is incredibly flat... everything is of an even value... especially your exterior level, the sci-fi one is better lit than your exterior environment but it's still a bit boring in terms of lighting... maybe have a look into some post production effects as well? but just don't go crazy with them e.g. lens flares everywhere lol. Just play around with it more... and also I feel like the material definition on almost all your assets / walls, floors etc aren't defined enough either... just keep pushing it :)
  • Ervin
    Offline / Send Message
    Ervin polycounter lvl 7
    I think the assets are the strongest part of your portfolio so I would put that first. Generally you should avoid putting anything in your portfolio that's unrelated to the work your are seeking unless it's really good, and even then it should be separated from the stuff that matters.

Over all your portfolio needs more content. You should be able to double the stuff in the assets section in a few days at most (if you work on it full time). That's what I recommend. You seems to know most of the basics, but you need polish and range.

Also there are no UV maps or texture files anywhere in there, you should include that for at least some of the stuff.
  • Sheers