Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

To normal map or not to normal map

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Andy Horns polycounter lvl 8
I apologise upfront if this seems like a noobish question, thing is i am a software dev by day and spend my nights with my passion for 3d, i am aware of what normal maps are and how they work, i have always just used them as they help with shading and adding details to low poly mesh. My question therefore is do i use normal maps too often, i see games like team fortress try not to use normal maps unless its for details that cant be easily modelled into a low poly, they end up using smoothing groups. I started thinking maybe i just use normal maps as they are convenient and maybe i could get away with not using them. Is there a point where an asset just doesn't take up enough screen resolution to warrant a normal map or how do you guys as professionals go about determining when to use a normal map? This is also in the context of mainly hard surface game objects not characters etc. Sorry for the long ramble...

Replies

• Garasin
    Offline / Send Message
    Garasin polycounter lvl 10
    My understanding of normal maps is you use them to convey detail when it would be to tri intensive to do by actually modelling the details in. This normally comes in the form of small surface details such as bolts, rivets, embossed patters, etc.

It also depends on the look you’re going for in the case of TF2 they use them very sparing because the look they’re going for doesn't always need them. Whereas a game like Left 4 Dead uses them a lot more because the visual style they want requires a lot more surface detail that would probably take them over there polygon budget if they didn't use normal maps.
    Andy Horns wrote: »
    Is there a point where an asset just doesn't take up enough screen resolution to warrant a normal map