Home Quixel Megascans

SOLVED: new-ish dDo user - question on multi masking for paint?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
anthonymcgrath polycounter lvl 3
hi guys i'm fairly new to dDo - i purchased the suite on black friday (fantastic offer thankyou!) and i'm absolutely LOVING your software although i'm still getting to grips with it. there's still a few bugs but i'm sure your aware of them and tbh i've found just letting dDo take its time instead of mashing buttons pays dividends :)

anyway i'm trying to setup a paint material on a model... i want the paint to reveal a metal underneath. So i create a new layer.. put metal on it and thats my base material. I then create a 2nd layer and make that the preset of red paint.

now my difficulty comes in adding masks layer by layer to 'add' damage. I add a mask to my red paint.. use a weathered edges and sure enough i get my steel material come through - it looks great!

now i want to add a level2 layer of 'damage'... effectively removing more paint. How can i do this?

My current method is to group up the red paint material (which is masked) and add a mask to that group... this gives me a second layer of 'damage'.. over the top of my original edge scratches... but how do i de-activate this level2 damage? i cant seem to turn it off or mute it... and just have my level 1 damage of weathered edges?

hope that makes sense!
thanks
ant

Replies

• Eric Ramberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi anthonymcgrath! Great to hear that your are likeing the software!

I think i understand what you are trying to achive here, there are a few ways to do it.
    One way is actually the way you have done, to group the layer and add a second mask to the group, I must admit I do this sometimes as well, although I kinda feel like I´m cheating :D