Home Quixel Megascans

SOLVED: NDO - Add/mix normal map details

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
lordsme polycounter lvl 8
Hi everyone, I'm quite new to NDO, I can't find the correct workflow for a simple problem, here it is.

While doing a personal library of normal map details/decals to add on more complicated baked normal maps, I baked a hipoly bolt to a simple lowpoly plane using xNormal. I got a simple good tangent space normal map that applied to the plane works fine.

How can I use this kind of normal map details in a NDO project? I tried with different workflows but still can't figure the proper way to do it. I also tried using a baked heightmap, but the results are not very good.

Replies

• Gordon Robb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gordon Robb polycounter lvl 2
    Interested in the answer to that too.
  • Avis Para.doc's
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Avis Para.doc's polycounter lvl 9
    You can just place them above "channel mixer" layer if your normal layer have a mask to add detail. To mix normals just use NDO option -> Mix -> Overlay normal.

By the way Teddy, I think its a good idea to change "nDo2" to "ndo" in "Mix" menu just for avoid the inconvenience in user experience.
  • lordsme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You can just place them above "channel mixer" layer if your normal layer have a mask to add detail.

Ok, and then manually set their blend mode to Overlay, right?
    What about normalization? I suppose I have to do it as a separate step after the export/save as...

Moreover, do NDO normal maps need normalization? (I suppose they do, since after applying the xNormal normalization filter in photoshop the color values change)
    Isn't there any "export" function that handles all this?
  • Avis Para.doc's
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok I'm not sure that I understand your question right. But will try to explain.