Home Technical Talk

Architectural PBR Texturing - Need advice please :)

Hey everyone.

So, I've modeled this mansion below and unwrapped it (it's unwrapped in such a way that's best for a texture atlas)

GM4FHBf.jpg

I want to use PBR materials and make a scene out of it by putting it into UE4.
However, I've never used a PBR workflow before, and don't really have much of a clue on the best way to texture it using PBR materials.
- I'm struggling to find decent PBR workflows for architecture tutorials.

Would creating a PBR texture atlas be a sensible approach? Or should I create master materials and apply them using material I.D's? Or something else entirely?

Thanks!

Replies

• jfitch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jfitch polycounter lvl 5
    So how would you normally do it? An atlas with diff/normal/spec? I'd keep it the same way, you just have albido, normal, rough, and metal instead.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    How you uv your asset has no bearing on whether the materials are physically accurate or not, so do whatever you think will work best for the uvs.
  • edwardsomatic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jfitch wrote: »
    So how would you normally do it? An atlas with diff/normal/spec? I'd keep it the same way, you just have albido, normal, rough, and metal instead.

I've always made a texture atlas for this sort of thing, but looking through the UE4 projects, texture atlas's don't seem to be all that common anymore...
    From what I've seen, materials applied using I.d's (with UV masks) are the way to go.
    Using an atlas would be easier for me, but if another method is more common in industry, I could do with learning that instead.
    EarthQuake wrote: »
    How you uv your asset has no bearing on whether the materials are physically accurate or not, so do whatever you think will work best for the uvs.