Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mamie's crazy improvement, motivation and inspiration thread!

Hi guys,

It's my first time posting on the forum. I've been enjoying my stay so far, and I'm looking forward to lurking your art a bit more! Seeing all these great creations people make, I wanted to try!

SCROLL DOWN FOR SHORT VERSION, GIRLY CRYING BELOW.

First, I'd like to develop about the kind of work I want to do. Some people may have experience with the kind of situation I'm into, and I'd be glad to take advice from you guys.

I am trying to make a game.
See the word "Trying".

It's simple, I want to create a game that will allow me to develop new skills and earn small amounts of money, if possible.

For a year and a half now, I've been sharpening my modeling skills through various online tutorials. I lost a lot of my time following guides that just weren't right. I had no money, I was young... But in the past 6 months, I finally found something that helped me. And I just started seeing improvement in my own creations. Something that actually, well looked like something.

I invested a year and a half in this already, and I am starting to need money.
I know I am heavily limited by my skill level. And a full tree can't grow in a year. I have the ideas, the patience and ambition (I believe). If any of you have been through this, you'll probably know what I mean:

People lose faith.

My girlfriend is starting to think I'm crazy, but I'm not. (Again, I believe, correct me if I'm wrong). I'm on the 'puter all day all night, I started drinking coffee and I'm running out of cash... fast. I'm expecting the rivers to go dry in 3 months. My hands are still shaking from the last line. 3 months, oh god.

SHORT VERSION IS HERE GUYS, I FINALLY STOPPED CRYING.