Home Adobe Substance

Substance Painter to Marmoset Roughness issue

Matthew Smith
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Matthew Smith polycounter lvl 4
I'm having an issue where my roughness map that is being generated from Substance Painter is way too reflective. Inside of Painter it looks great but when I bring it into Marmoset for some nicer renders it looks like crap. I'm pretty new to Marmoset (and Painter for that matter) but I feel like the roughness that is generated is too dark. I set the map to gloss and checked the invert box. Here are my results with both:

2aAxJcf.jpg

Hard to see without moving around it but here are the roughness maps for this material.

3QjLZMh.png

Why does the exported roughness have so much more contrast to it? I suppose I could just change some levels and make it look like I want it but should I need to do that? Help would be appreciated!

Replies

• oblomov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oblomov polycounter lvl 8
    This all comes down to color space mismatches.
    In Designer, when looking at individual channels in solo mode, all channels are gamma comprensated. However, the roughness channel is exported in linear color space (as it should). Hence, when looking at your png file without compensation, it appears darker than in Designer. Similarly, when importing it in Toolbag you need to specify that it is in linear color space as well, otherwise Toolbag applies the inverse transformation and makes the roughness lower than it should be.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    By default gloss/roughness maps load into TB2 in linear space. To make sure, hit the options button next to the texture, sRGB should not be checked. To change it to gamma space, check the sRGB box.

Also, by default TB2 expects gloss maps to use white to define gloss areas and black to define rough areas. If your roughness map is authored so that black = glossy and white = rough, hit the invert check box.