Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Jet Train (cinematic asset)

Hey guys. This is my first attempt at an asset like this. I've never done a vehicle, or anything this complex and of such a high poly count before. That said, I am totally open to some feedback. Critique is welcome, especially if it's something I can use to improve.

My assignment for class was to take a vehicle and add an unusual component to it, and complete it to a cinematic quality (which for the purposes of this assignment means a 200k tri limit, and 4-6 UV sheets).

My concept is a jet-powered train. Currently I'm in the high poly phase, soon to make the conversion to low poly.

Main concept:
K6DTxef.jpg

Other reference:
WLsKzAj.jpg
bifaN2G.jpg
y5rb9io.jpg
v8eQeZR.jpg
IHbJH4x.jpg
Wd5HAqk.jpg

Where I'm at:
nw7LdSW.jpg
o0Lspu6.jpg
PlMwLYl.jpg
eX3rXcx.jpg
9hlIbDf.jpg

Replies

• Sickleblade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey guys. I've had a hell of a time getting through to the low poly and then unwrapping/UVs. When I got my low poly assembled, I found out I was way over budget for my tris so I had to do alot of gutting geo. But I finally got it down to my 200k tri-count. Baked my normals and AO. and stuck it into marmoset. to check it out. Realizing the wheels need a bit of tweaking. Anyways, I wanted to actually update this.

AO and normal of my UV sheets.
    a2HQIyr.jpg
    E0YC3PP.jpg
    rRQSBvw.jpg

l3Hi3tx.jpg
    ivBz77F.jpg
    5vRRpxD.jpg

X7l4DXS.jpg
    vdgbVYq.jpg
    FRUXldx.jpg

2Dfxa1o.jpg
    4bKXFFQ.jpg
    AaEuk99.jpg

Fy07z0w.jpg
    hdTTOW4.jpg
    ChrpCS1.jpg
  • Sickleblade
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    9l5maEH.jpg
    TP5GiHb.jpg
    8kAf3Ex.jpg

renders of these applied to my train model in marmoset:
    E2brkbs.jpg
    7HIloqj.jpg
    wMPwAHz.jpg
    Ux4tXwQ.jpg
    6maGFQu.jpg
    6X5R5F3.jpg
    GeHnGAM.jpg
    MOHXT4r.jpg
    GqpmGLY.jpg
    rZV5xlt.jpg
  • ghaztehschmexeh