Home Contests & Challenges Archives Team Fortress 2

Animating a pistol replacement - Help!

Hi, I'm new to polycount so if this is posted in the wrong place please forgive me :I

For the past several months a partner and I have been working on a pistol for the Engineer:
http://i.imgur.com/vah6UMb.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/t7S1ioz.jpg

My partner is the Blender master, and I take care of compiling. At this point we have a completed model, texture, and normal map that all work as a reskin of the stock pistol (for both scout and engineer, though it should only be for engie) Problem is, it needs custom animations because of the way it is designed, specifically for reload. See that red/blue knob thing at the back? The engie will pull a battery-clip out from that and load a new one in, similar to the syringe gun reload animaton.

yCarcnO.png

For the reskin, it currently replaces c_pistol.mdl. I've searched all over to figure out how animations work and I thought we should use the old v/w model system. We made a new .dmx reference with our weapon, replaced all the animations, and made sure the .qc was in order (I can post the qc if needed) but when we put it in game.. well it was pretty hilarious actually. No sign of our animations, instead there was a detextured arms model with our gun floating 2 feet below:

http://i.imgur.com/NKSTrUd.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/CvFPYtq.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/eMtOb8y.jpg

I figure either v and w models don't even work anymore, or I just royally screwed it up. I tried to replace v_pistol_engineer.mdl. Now I'm coming to you guys, because I have searched everywhere and cannot find a tutorial on how to set up/compile animations anywhere, and every other forum post I've made never got an answer. Here's what I really need to know:

- What file(s) should I be replacing to make animations work? Is it v/w models or c models?

- What do I need to look out for in the .qc?