Home General Discussion

Strange Anatomy

I'm confused by a number of oddities when comparing photographs and anatomical drawings.

First up are the pecs. The insertion point looks like it's on the arm by the deltoid. The drawing shows that, but why does it look so differently on human male? I image it's the skin and fat doing their job, but how does one sculpt this correctly when using reference?

PecConfusion.png

Replies

• disanski
    Offline / Send Message
    disanski polycounter lvl 14
    You should also pay attention to what part of the pectorals goes under and above . I am still learning too but as far as I know there are 3 main sections and what you see on the photograph is exactly what it is on the drawing.
    Take a look at this for example - could not find better image but this should do the job
    img_03511.jpg
    you can see how the clavicular part of the pectorals actually goes above all the rest so this is what you see on the photo.
    Hope that helps :)

Edit: you might need to find some better reference. I love Paul Richer anatomy book that was recommended by Scott Eaton and he was also using to teach his class.
    Or what Slosh said below :)
  • slosh
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character
    I think you're confusing the muscles:

PecConfusion.jpg

The angle on the 2 images are different. Both are accurate. The pectoral does originate from the same place. In the photo, the man is hunched over whereas in the illustration, the body is completely upright.
  • MagicSugar
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    Waterbear wrote: »
    I image it's the skin and fat doing their job, but how does one sculpt this correctly when using reference?

Deltoids overlap the insertion area of the pecs (which is the upper arm bone).
    Anatomy illustrations sometimes are based from cadaver referenses when muscles have dried up and contracted.
  • SuperFranky
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10