Home Technical Talk

Dynamesh problems, weird wavy lines

JamesLarden
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
JamesLarden polycounter lvl 3
Hello again PolyCount, wasn't sure if I should make a seperate thread for this question but I decided to.

I'm following Fanny Vergne's tileable texture tutorial for making a hand painted style stone slab (dem alliterations) on Vertex #2 and i've followed it pretty much to the letter, the only difference is that her polygroup only contain 1 slab, while mine contain up to 3-4 slab.

This is what's confusing me because I chose the exact same resolution as her (290) and my dynamesh comes out looking like this: 498f49208a.jpg3d0bf31a0f.jpg

I feel like i'm mising something obvious here because i've never used dynamesh before, thank in advance for any replies.

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    Dynamesh is dependent on your mesh scale. You can simply adjust your Dynamesh resolution until you get the results you want, or you can try using Tool > Deformation > Unify to let ZBrush try to re-scale your model to an appropriate size before activating Dynamesh.
  • DireWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    you may want to turn off smooth as well.
  • JamesLarden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thnks for the replies guys, I did what you said, while my object was ahole I unified it then split it into subgroups before I applied the dynamesh, I also turned off smooth, however i'm still getting the same results.

It's a little better but it appears to be skewing some of the edgeloops and the edges of the actual model still have the same wavy pattern.
    2350a1a1fb.jpg

3faecd3fbf.jpg
    5ae771ed9b.jpg
  • Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message